All About Diamonds

December 28, 2011 at 10:39 pm Leave a comment

Now that she is the sparkle of your eye, place a sparkle on her finger in the form of a diamond engagement ring or within a wedding band. Many brides-to-be often wear a diamond engagement ring before the big day. Traditionally, she will wear the ring on the third finger of her left hand, the one closest to her heart. Diamond rings are often set in a band composed of silver, gold or platinum. For grooms and fiancés, it is important to understand the 4Cs of diamond selection before buying a diamond ring.
Cut is a term used by jewelers to refer to the shape of a diamond. Standard cuts for a diamond engagement ring include the following: round, square and pear. Unusual cuts include the heart-shape, asscher and briolette.
By far the most popular of all diamond shapes is the traditional round solitaire, the classic symbol of eternity. Round cut diamonds feature the highest number of facets and offers the most brilliance, giving it a bling advantage over other cuts. Oval cut diamonds are similar to round cut but are slightly more elongated in shape.
Square or rectangle-shaped cuts for diamonds include the square, princess, baguettes, emerald and radiant. A princess-cut diamond, a type of diamond shaped like a square is the more desired style for square-shaped engagement rings. Due to its shape, a square or rectangle-shaped diamond ring may display more flaws than other cuts.
Pear or teardrop-shaped diamonds are distinguished as an oval with that comes to a point on one end. Marquis diamonds are a similar type of diamond that looks like a tiny football.
Diamond color is a result of trace elements mixed with the inherent carbon of the stone. Diamonds are graded in groups based on an international color scale system from D to Z used by the American Gem Society. Diamonds in the category D to F are considered colorless. G through F diamonds are near colorless. K to M class diamonds shows faint yellow undertones. N through R grade diamonds exhibit light yellow tendencies and S to Z are yellow. The Gemological Institute of Americauses a similar system based on numbers.
Clarity refers to the flaws of a diamond and determines its price. Based on scale of Fl to I3, it is recommended to examine a diamond’s initial clarity before buying by looking at it under a natural light. A diamond rated Fl or IF means is it flawless to the naked eye. Diamonds of type I1, I2, or I3 exhibit b or inclusions visible to the naked eye, many retailers sell this type of diamond.
Carat denotes to the weight of a diamond and not its size. One carat weighs about 1/5 of a gram, diamonds less than one carat cost less. Smaller diamonds are measured with points instead of carats with one carat equaling 100 points. Carat has no relation to karat, a term used for gold measurement.
By educating yourself on the 4Cs before shopping you will be in the better position to buy the best diamond possible within your budget. Learn more about buying diamonds for your sweetie at the next Great Bridal Expo coming to your area.


Entry filed under: Bridal Jewelry. Tags: , , , , , , , .

SUMMER WEDDING COLORS:: Hot Colors for Your Summer Wedding PLANNING:: Without Breaking The Bank

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

Follow Me on Pinterest

%d bloggers like this: